heredago's blog

February 19, 2012

Not only did I cut the cord, but I jumped so hard, head first into this, I nearly knocked myself out. A summary of one man’s adventures into /r/cordcutters

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tags: , , , , , , — heredago @ 20:24

http://www.reddit.com/r/cordcutters/comments/ppeie/not_only_did_i_cut_the_cord_but_i_jumped_so_hard/

 

So I’ve done it. Cox cable is no longer supplying my family television, AND if they followed my instructions verbatim, there should be a VOIP cable modem, AND an HD DVR lodged deep in a rectum somewhere.

It’s been an interesting path to navigate, and the adventure isn’t over with a mere Cox cancellation. It most certainly didn’t start there, either.

If we jump back in time 3 weeks, we’ll find a loogielv with absolutely zero knowledge of cutting the cord. We’ll find a loogielv that believed XBMC was still only for XBOXes, torrents were the ultimate and only choice in acquiring entertainment content, Judge Judy was as easily obtainable as any show, and there would never be a piece of software that would get a donation if it was voluntary and the free version provided everything he needed.

A loogielv, that was horribly ignorant.

Before I jump into what I finally decided on, and what I’m currently using I should share what my initial concerns and objections were.

  • I needed a way for my wife to view retarded shows that normal people would rather open a Tylenol gel-cap and snort the liquid inside than watch. We’re talking Judge Judy, People’s Court, Saved by the Bell, Cupcake Wars etc. Real shit shows. Actually, Judge Judy is pretty awesome. You shut your communist mouth.
  • I needed to be able to share the media through several TVs within the home, and preferably online with Android devices, laptops, friends and family members. Like I’m fucking LoogFlix or some shit.
  • I preferred to have all my shows/movies downloaded, instead of worrying about streaming via a shady website. While saving the space would be nice, I wasn’t about to pay a service like MegaVideos or something, unless majority of Reddit users that have paid would recommend it. I trust you Reddit…though you’ve taken advantage of that trust a few times…

Really that was it. I was under the impression that if I set up some really badass RSS feeds, I could automate my torrent downloading, and get all my shows easily. Hell, I could even tailor some RSS feeds to avoid downloading compressed (rar, zip) files. While it would still require some interaction on my part, I could automate 80% of it, and ALLLLMOST have my shows ready to watch as soon as they were done downloading. That’s the best you can hope for, right? Wrong. Oh, how wrong I was.

Reading several threads in r/cordcutters, I heard a few terms very sparingly, and was perfectly happy to pounce right over them without giving them a second thought. “XBMC” for one. “Who the shit still uses an XBOX to watch media? It’s friggin 2012. Newbs.”

However, many people on r/cordcutters were relying on devices (ie: Roku, WD TV Live) to serve up their Tall Media Frappuccinos. I instantly went out and acquired a Roku, just to test the waters. After playing around with the Netflix app, and a few Plex apps on it, I decided it was pretty cool, and perfect for a children’s room, but wasn’t nearly powerful enough, nor customizable enough for the ol’ Loog-meister.

I put zero thought into Plex as anything more than a way to serve up “E:\Kids Shit\” to the children’s room. I went out and found a WD TV Live and fooled around with it like a willing prom date.
While I won’t do an official review here, I’ll say I decided on “More powerful than a Roku, less customizable.” It would easily access network shares, but beyond that, it really didn’t bring anything special to the table.

Further, the responsiveness of using it, (especially the Netflix app) is maddening. Homicidal madness invoking. It’s just not snappy. There’s a delay when moving the cursor, a delay when selecting file, a delay when opening a Netflix movie…or anything. To the point where I would gladly keep a Roku around just for the Netflix app. (Bear in mind, you have to jump through hoops to get a Roku to access media on network server. The WD TV Live has network share access built in. Jumping through hoops on a Roku was still preferable to the slow response of the WD TV Live UI.)

I researched the Uebo M400: an unknown in the cord-cutting world, but primed to be a heavy hitter. It comes with everything from a built-in torrent client to every type of video connection imaginable. The only thing was, I could NOT find a video review of the UI. The Uebo requires a Play-On sub, so that meant if I wanted movies I would have to go back to not only paying Play-On, but also paying for MegaVideo or whatever. More shadiness. While I wasn’t above it, I at least needed to see the UI in action. (The PlayOn app for the Roku is so laughably disgusting, its not even worth mentioning. It’s dead to me. it doesn’t exist) I couldn’t find any sort of video review of the UI, so that sent up red flags. Moving on.

“XBMC? Sigh, maybe it’s more than I thought”. Boom a whole new world opened up. I search on Reddit for “xbmc” and stumble onto [1] /r/htpc and that brings about SABnzbd, SickBeard, CouchPotato and Subsonic. I wont officially review those apps here either, as they’re nearly perfect and either you use them, or you don’t use newsgroups. Period.

After playing around with XBMC, which nicely serves up my newly acquired (via SickBeard and CouchPotato) library I feel like I’m almost…happy. Bringing in SubSonic (used to stream all your media to internet devices) for a 3-way like a stripper girlfriend does with her stripper friends to a boyfriend that she’s searching for approval from because she never got it from her father, and I thought I was in love…but I now know…it was merely lust. See, something is missing with XBMC. For starters, I have no easy way to share my media to the kids room. The Roku doesn’t have anything that works (at least easily) with XBMC. I knew Plex Media Server could run to the Roku, but, I felt…dirty, running XBMC and PMS. It just seemed…so dumb.

Also, having messed with Plex in the past, I was expecting XBMC to have the beauty and ease of navigation that Plex had. While XBMC is great, on a scale of 1-10, it’s about an 8. Plex is a solid 9, (and that’s not counting the borderline psychic ability to scrape and parse metadata for all types of naming conventions. Plex could figure out “1st Highst gorsing flim of ALL TIME! LOLOLOL Avatar (not air bending fags) I want 2 bang a Navii until she sqrts blue liquid from her butt hole!!.avi” and make it show “Avatar (2009)” in the Plex Media Server. That’s impressive. With SickBeard/CouchPotato, it’s not an issue, so that’s why I’m not counting it, but it certainly bears mentioning).

Also, using the XBMC add-on for Netflix, I needed to change my Netflix account details and I COULD NOT, FOR THE GOD DAMNED LIFE OF ME, figure out how to do it. I disabled the addon, tried to find the xml file that would hold the Netflix account info…everything. I was so damn frustrated, I was going to uninstall, and wait for XBMC: Eden to come out anyway, that I figured I’d give Plex Media Center another shot.

That’s it. I will not be testing Eden, as there’s no need. Plex Media Server will serve everything to my kids’ Roku, and even better, the beauty of Plex Media Center completely blows XBMC out of the water. Further, for whatever reason, the playback of movies is brighter and more vivid within Plex than XBMC. I’m sure I could have made XBMC equally beautiful after tinkering, but I didn’t have to. Plex said “have a seat Mr. Loogielv..I’ll take over from here.” Also, I tried to get the colors right in XBMC and couldn’t figure it out. I figured it was because the XBMC box was hooked to the TV via regular VGA cable, and I would need an HDMI converter. Nope, Plex fixed it for me.

Things I’ve learned:

  • I’ve learned that other than YouTube, Judge Judy is simply NOT on the fucking internet, anywhere… (There IS a kind hearted soul on IPTorrents that is uploading Judge Judy and People’s Court daily, with some RSS tweaking, I can acquire it daily…I’ll be doing that, even though my OCD screams that either be acquired through SickBeard..OR NOTHING…oh well. The sacrifices we make for our partners…
  • I’ve learned that I absolutely am willing to donate to a developer when they both a) blow my mind and b) don’t force me to pay. When donating is voluntary, as is the case with SABnzbd, SickBeard, CouchPotato, (and subsonic, though it’s forced voluntary) I’m happy to donate. Those programs deserve my love and admiration. And yours too.
  • If you run Plex Media Server, Plex Media Center, and SABnzbd on the same box, you might experience a playback issue every 10 min or so while SABnzbd is repairing and un-rarring in the background (when watching media that’s stored on the same HD as SABnzbd is currently working on. I’ll be adding an SSD for SABnzbd to use a temp drive to do it’s magic, before copying to the main storage drive.
  • If you tell your wife that her taste in television is bad, she will be able to list many…many reasons why

a) her taste in television is in fact, good.

b) your taste in television is bad

c) your taste in music is bad

d) your driving abilities are bad

e) her taste in men is bad

Protip for Roku users: The Plex channel is shit. Install “Plex Grid” channel instead, and all the speed issues go away, and the interface is snappy and beautiful. The Roku delivers again, which is something special when you consider it’s $99 and really SHOULDN’T be as good as it is.

all 136 commentssubscribe
sorted by:

top
navigate by:

|

|

|

|

|

|

|

[–]loogielv

[S] 30 points 5 days ago*  (37|5)

tl;dr eli5: (Explain Like I’m 5) my current setup:

For those not familiar with with SAB, CouchPotato, SickBeard, etc, here’s how it works: Enter into SickBeard (or CouchPotato for Movies) what shows you want to watch, it gets the show info from TVDB (or IMDB for Movies) and then searches your newsgroups for files that match that info. (ie: The Walking Dead S02E01)

When it finds, it sends the download info to SABnzbd. SABnzbd acts like a uTorrent and downloads the files. When the files complete downloading, SABnzbd tells SickBeard (or CouchPotato) it’s done, and then SickBeard (or CouchPotato for Movies) auto rename the files, auto move the files to the final directory, and auto include any art, posters, show info, show tunes, etc). this helps to remove things like “The Walking Dead: Best show ever S02E08 xvid Uploaded by YourMom hacking force. Bowdown bitches.avi” to “Walking Dead, The S02E08: Nebraska.avi” without any interaction on your part.

XBMC (or Plex) display the final show (or movie) directory and while browsing, will display the synopsis, posters, fan art that SickBead (or CouchPotato) added to the directory (in fact, Plex will even play the show’s theme songs as you go from show to show. XBMC will too, but with add-ons) So XMBC shows you “The Walking Dead: Nebraska (Season 2, Episode 8), shows you a synopsis of that episode, some art or photos from the episode, and points to “E:\TV Shows\Walking Dead, The\S02E08.avi”

when i want to add a show, I just access the web UI from any pc and type in the show/movie I want. it’s stupid easy.

Here is my setup: * TV: Cheap as shit 55″. For those that care, my TV is: 55 inch Sanyo DP55360 LED for only $798. Can’t recommend it enough. Awesome LED TV for cheap. WalMart.

  • I have a physically tiny, nothing special pc, (duo-core 3.3 ghz, 4gb ram, Win 7) attached to my TV via a regular VGA monitor cable. ie: my 55″ is acting as a monitor to the small PC. Nothing special.
  • On the small PC, I have everything. SABnzbd, CouchPotato, SlickBeard, SubSonic, Plex Media Server, and Plex Media Center. (this basically means the PC does everything from get the shows, manage the shows, maintain the shows, and then play the shows…I’ll be changing this in the future. See below in “upcoming changes”.

Usage: * Plex Media Center is always open in full screen on the PC and when I turn my TV on it stays on “Input: PC” It displays Plex Media Center, I use a mini keyboard or a mouse, or a remote that I have set up to control the PC to go down to “TV Shows”. Then I hit enter, and scroll through all my shows. As i scroll from Roseanne, to Walking Dead, Breaking Bad, Beverly Hills: 90210, it displays various fan art, photos, actor photos, show info, plays the theme songs, whatever. Once I find the show I want, say I want to watch the latest ep of “The Walking Dead” I hit enter on The Walking Dead, and it pops up another menu with every Season. I hit down to Season 2, then down to Ep 08 labeled “Nebraska” and it pops up a small paragraph describing the episode. I hit enter and it stars playing in full 1080p, or 720p or whatever I specified in SickBeard for it to download. Roseanne gets Standard Def, Spartacus gets Best quality available. Savvy?

*My Roku has a private channel (which add via the Roku interace, very easy) called Plex Grid. You specify your Plex Media Server address and it displays your library. Simple as that. I have no idea how good playback can be if both devices are in use at the same time. i will be testing later. Plex transcodes on the fly, so i might have problems if the kids are watching Lion King while I’m watching Avatar..we’ll see.

Upcoming changes:
* An SSD hard drive just for SABnzbd to use as a temp directory for unpacking shows, before moving them to their final desination. (E:\TV Shows\Walking Dead, The) It’ll add extra time to copy between discs, but I’ve learned that if SABnzbd is performing file actions, while Plex Media Server is updating it’s library (which it does auto when it detects a change in the directory) it’ll cause the storage harddrive to have a hiccup during playback. I may be able to avoid this with a dedicated Plex Media Center pc, and a separate PC for Plex Media Server, or something like that. We’ll see. Even with this current set up, the playback will pause for maybe 3 seconds every 12 minutes or something. Nothing bad, but still unacceptable imo.

  • Instead of hooking the TV up via VGA monitor cable, i will get an HDMI adapter. Either usb-to-hdmi, or vga-to-hdmi. I will test the quality of playback and see which is better. I’m certain that HDMI will give better color.
  • a Logitech Harmony remote. while I own one, it is by far the most complicated piece of the entire HTPC I have built. I am too overwhelmed to get it to work atm, but after get my HTPC perfect, I will eventually get the remote working. for now, I use a mini keyboard called a “logitech diNovo mini”. it’s awesome. has a built in clickpad. good enough as an HTPC remote.
  • I may ditch SubSonic for the built in “myPlex” streaming capabilities. Have not messed enough with either services to make a call just yet. Most likely myPlex will win out, as it’s built in. I’d rather run less software if I can, but SubSonic is flat out amazing.

[–]edru

18 points 5 daysago (22|5)

this is in no way at all tl;dr

[–]loogielv

[S] 16 points 5 daysago (20|3)

sure it is. it’s shorter than the OP..its just longer than YOUR tl;drs.

I’ll be damned if I do a tl;dr for the tl;dr. Just dont read it

[–]schmood

2 points 4 daysago (3|1)

I have a similar set up except using a Mac mini. I don’t notice any frame rate drop at all when Sab is decompressing and repairing. This set up has changed my world.

[–]snuka

2 points 4 daysago (3|1)

I’ll allow it because I really like his writing style.

[–]matty_m

3 points 5 daysago (4|1)

Sometimes I had the same problem with playback when it was unraring files using SABnzb with my 09 Mac mini server. It slowly got worse I trouble shot it to a bad hard drive. Replaced the hard drive with a 1tb 7200 rpm drive problem solved. I bought a 2011 Mac mini with the stock 500G drive and haven’t had any problems. So your hard drive might be slowly dying.

[–]anonytrees

2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

You will be better off getting a new graphics card for your PC rather than trying to convert VGA -> HDMI. You wont gain anything by slapping a converter on there.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

no way to upgrade the vid card, as it’s a tiny form factor computer with on board Video and no way to upgrade or add stuff to it.

[–]anonytrees

6 points 4 daysago (6|2)

Well in that case, I’d probably just stick with VGA. HDMI is superior, but like I said, you’re not gonna gain much (if anything at all) by adapting the VGA -> HDMI. Save some money.

And thanks for your entertaining read, I’ve been thinking of trying to set up some sort of media server for myself at home and you’ve given me plenty to chew on.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

there is a device that actually is more than an VGA to HDMi adapter, it actually upgrades the signal and crap. I dont recall the name, but it was like $200. I’m going to frys tomorrow to pick it up and give it a whirl.

[–]nadafinga

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

It won’t help. There are low profile cards that can be had for $30, the ati 5450 comes to mind. You’ll end up spending more money on workarounds if your tech is that old. It’s easier to just upgrade the PC components. That being said, I’m sure there is someway to put a low profile pci-e card in there (provided you have a pci-e slot, if you don’t have onboard graphics you should have at least one slot)

As for judge Judy/peoples court, no need to buy a channel master dvr. Just buy a USB tuner stick and use the dvr functionality built into Windows 7 media center, it’s the best dvr out there….

[–]affix

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

He said it has on-board video with no way to upgrade, presumably there’s no spare PCIE slots.

[–]nadafinga

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Yah, I was on my phone so it was harder to check back and see that he had mentioned that.

The point still remains though, you could buy a new mobo, cpu and GPU for less than $200, and that $200 spent on a vga/hdmi converter isn’t well spent since it will not improve the picture quality at all…

[–]v-work

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Could you change your PMS settings to not update when changes are seen, but every hour instead?

[–]DAVYWAVY

1 point 5 daysago (2|1)

Yes you can set plex to update your library hourly, or if you like as little as every 15 minutes or as long as once a day.

[–]loogielv

[S] 2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

Sure, and in fact, I’ll be doing that here soon, but even if I happen to be playing back while Plex is doing it’s hourly thing, and SAB is doing its thing, it’ll add a hiccup or 2 to its list of features.

[–]DAVYWAVY

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

if you have an android phone its better to use the free remote app to manually update your library

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

good tip. thanks

[–]iambeaker

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

What version of Roku do you have? I may have overlooked it.

[–]loogielv

[S] 11 points 5 daysago (17|4)

The newer Roku 2, XS with Angry Birds built in. comes with the blue tooth remote.

In fact, the usage of that very simple remote, made me realize that ALL remotes should be BT from now on. It’s 2012. I should not have to point a remote directly at the device I’m using. I should be able to keep my hands under the sheets while I touch my pee-pee and change the channel until I pass out.

[–]sdub86

2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

2 things:

1 – This is a great write-up for someone like myself who is standing on the edge of the diving board, staring at a $95 monthly Comcast bill, and trying to summon the courage to jump into the cordcutters pool. The only thing that could make it better is if you recorded a 3 minute video showing how you have everything set up, interacting with each other, and what the process is like for you to get new content, and play it.

2 – Roseanne deserves to be viewed in HD.

Actually 3 things : I assume you aren’t a sports fan? I gotta have my live sports, and online streams are usually poor quality 😦

[–]loogielv

[S] 8 points 5 daysago (10|3)

I am a huge sports fan.

actually let me respond to each point.

1) Thank you for the compliment. I will make a video and give my thoughts throughout. I’ll then re-write another more complete review to accompany the video. I’ll also add some more insults and profanity for no reason. I’ll wait until I do some changes though. I have some changes to the system I need to make (namely splitting the system into 2 systems. 1 for all the acquiring of the media, the other for playback. I’ll also have some more beneficial info as to how to system works with multiple devices playing back through Plex at the same time. I’m nervous about this and feel I might have really good insight here soon. Hang in there..send me a PM in a few days too to remind me. Please.

2) Roseanne was originally added as HD but I had some serious issues finding any. I later learned that NZBMatrix has a limit to the amount of searches you can do per hour, and this caused a huge hiccup while re-building my library. This is actually a great pool of information that needs to be included in this write up, so when I do the vid, and remake the write up, I’ll include that as well. Also, Roseanne, in HD…you’re flirting with danger buddy…

3) I’m a HUGE sports fan. Absolutely huge. Namely NFL football. I have some luck in that my in-laws have DirectTV and the NFL Sunday Ticket, so I can use their internet logins during the regular season and watch any game I choose through any web browser. The issues with that are a) only regular season. No post-season. Also, I have no idea how NFL Sunday Ticket works with XBMC or Plex, but I’m sure there’s a way to get it to work. And merely launching the webpage in a regular web browser and viewing it that way is unacceptable. MY OCD will not allow anything other than perfect integration within whatever Media Center I’ll be using.

I know that PlayOn has some add-ons that will allow certain websites where you can typically catch a game to work. (ie: Justin.TV) but those are so hit and miss, that I wouldn’t consider them plausible. Instead there’s some very awesome websites (FirstRowSports comes to mind) that specialize in streaming live events, and do it regularly, regardless of Government harassment. I’ll be looking to integrate a site like that into whatever Media Center I’ll be using.

Thought I don’t intend to, nor am I happy at the prospect, but I’m willing to overlook just about any other sport, and forego any pay-per-view events (boxing, UFC) if I have to, but I will not miss football. Worst case, is I would get an over the air antenna and play the events that way. There’s a device called “Channel Master” that will record OTA in HD and work as a DVR. I’d even go that route before I’d give up on football. I assure you though, I will have a better fix when the time comes.

[–]sdub86

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

Excellent. I’m glad there’s another NFL fan out there that understands my pain. I’ll PM you in a few days. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with us!

[–]workersRgoinghome

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

You Windows 7 PC will act as a DVR and will record OTA in HD as long as you have USB tuner dongle attached. (Since you said you cannot physically add a card) You can then point XBMC to the recorded files and play them directly.

[–]DickVomit

2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

SABnzbd tells SickBeard (or CouchPotato) it’s done

Couch potato has a post-processing script? Where do I get it?

[–]schmood

3 points 4 daysago (3|0)

Nah, you just have to create a movie category in Sab and make it so nzbs that couch adds use that category.

[–]DickVomit

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

yeah, that’s what i thought.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

actually no, CouchPotato just watches the completed folder for the “movies” group. in my case, I have e:!Snatching\Completed\” folder with 3 directories. “TV”, “Movies”, “Music”.

SAB is configured to move the files in the “TV” group to !Snatching\Completed\TV and “Movies to Same\Movies.

SickBeard then gets told via the post processing script to move it from my !Snatching\completed\TV folder to it’s final destination, but CouchPotato just watches !Snatching\Completed\Movies for any new files then processse them.

FWIW, I have a root folder of “!Snatching” (I put “!” at the beginning to keep it at the beginning of my folder list, but I may change it to zz_Snatching to do the opposite..anyway…)

within !Snatching I have the following: “Completed” This contains the folders where SABnzbd moves my files when they’re doing being downloaded, unpacked and repaired.

“Current” this is where files go as they are downloading, as well as the NZB files.

“To Do”. This is a monitored folder by SABnzbd. I can put any NZB in here and SAB will start downloading that file. This is beneficial for apps like “DropBox” where I sync the “To Do” folder and I can save NZBs from any computer to there, and SAB will start downloading at home.

[–]dixmitty

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

I keep my “To Do” folder in my shared dropbox folder. That way if I’m at work I can save an nzb into that folder and my home computer will see it and start downloading it!

[–]glassjazz

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

“On the small PC, I have everything. SABnzbd, CouchPotato, SlickBeard, SubSonic, Plex Media Server, and Plex Media Center. (this basically means the PC does everything from get the shows, manage the shows, maintain the shows, and then play the shows…”

I want to do this with the Mac Mini hooked to my TV…can someone explain/provide a guide on how to do just THIS like I’m a five year old??? Right now I torrent shows to my laptop and drag them to my mini, but this seems way easier.

[–]dixmitty

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

This guy has some pretty good walkthoughs on how to configure sabnzb and sickbeard: Youtube Link. I’d suggest doing some reading up on what the different programs do before you jump straight into it (if you haven’t already). That way you kind of have a good idea of what you’re gonna do before going head first.

[–]3seconds2live

1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

I just found this sub. Is there a list of the programs you listed and do I need a roku? I have one tv with a media pc hooked up already which I currently use to download torrents but i need it to be easier if my wife is to use it. Can you help?

[–]Woodrow-Wilson

1 point 2 daysago (1|0)

Okay I have a very similar set up basically a PC hooked up to my TV acting as a monitor. I set up my computer and everything and have messed around with sickbeard a little bit but is there a good tutorial for doing everything you’ve done (e.x. get the shows, manage the shows, maintain the shows, and then play the shows) Any help for this newbie appreciated!

[–]zurkog

1 point 2 daysago (1|0)

Do you know if SickBeard can be used to just rename/move files and provide fan art/music/info, etc? I don’t go the usenet route (yet), I just use BTN, uTorrent, and a bunch of RSS feeds to get everything I want.

As far as the front-end goes, I’ve got something similar to you; I use a Roku, and the Roksbox app. I may have to check out Plex and the plex-grid channel you recommend.

[–]BeelzebubsBarrister

10 points 5 daysago (11|1)

I dunno about where you live, but where I am, Judge Judy and People’s Court and all those garbage shows are constantly on ordinary broadcast TV. Just get an antenna.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 5 daysago (11|10)

thats not the point. I dont want an antenna, and I want it to be available on demand. that’s the whole point.

[–]BeelzebubsBarrister

20 points 5 daysago (23|2)

You could get a tuner card and record the OTA broadcasts to your hard drive. Then they’d be available “on demand”

[–]GrrrArrgh

14 points 5 daysago (18|4)

Exactly. There’s certain programs (local news, crap tv shows on free broadcast channels, everything on PBS except Downton Abbey and Sherlock) that nobody will ever bother uploading or streaming. Well, PBS streams some of their stuff now, but aside from that, there’s a lot that’s not available online. No need to turn your nose up at the greatness that is free TV, broadcast over the air in HD. It’s in 1080i, which is better than what you can download. Get a commercial skipper addon with whatever program you watch it with and it’s better than tivo. Or set up Plex to view those DVR’d shows or set them to export to mkv format automatically, whatever. OTA adds a lot to a home theater setup.

[–]guatemeha

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

What do you recommend for recording broadcast tv? It would be so much easier than looking for everything and downloading it, plus its there, its free and its HD. 🙂

[–]GrrrArrgh

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Depends on if you’re using a mac or PC. On a PC, Windows Media Center. On a mac, EyeTV.

[–]guatemeha

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Well I have both but my old desktop is slow old but I was thinking of using it. If not then my MacBook. Thanks a lot I will check them both out.

[–]Blacksheep01

6 points 5 daysago (9|3)

Yes, listen to this man, you can record OTA! I know you mentioned being a thickhead in your post about XBMC only working on XBox, well, you are being a thickhead again lol.

[–]guatemeha

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

What kind of tuner card would you recommend? I cut the cord now I am trying to fill in the voids, love the free HD channels and yes a lot easier than downloading just not sure what is the best way to record shows off air.

[–]BeelzebubsBarrister

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

I don’t really know. Honestly, I don’t like most of what’s on broadcast TV enough to make an effort to record it. I have an OTA antenna, and I enjoy getting HD sports live, and sometimes watching the news or PBS, but that’s about it.

[–]Chipware

3 points 5 daysago (6|2)

HD HomeRun and DVR function in WMC would do this for you.

[–]preheatedbibby

8 points 5 daysago (11|4)

Yeah. Holy shit. This was amazing.

I might not even use any of the stuff here, but god damnit if I didn’t have a good time reading this and nodding my head at the stupid tv shows (here its “Real Housewives” of X, Jersey Shore, Teen Mom…etc etc)

[–]loogielv

[S] 3 points 5 daysago (6|3)

awesome. thank you very much!

[–]rseymour

5 points 5 daysago (5|0)

Relevant Judge Judy? nah, not really, but it’s hilarious.

[–]evildrdan

4 points 4 daysago (5|1)

Relevant Interview? it’s a good read.

[–]rseymour

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

They were all at my house when they came to LA that time. I only kinda knew Brian (aka awwwright mama). They are pretty awesome people. Check out their bands. They almost spent the night, but they jetted after the party ended. They were the last people there though. 🙂

[–]GrrrArrgh

3 points 5 daysago (4|1)

Ha, you’ve found religion!

I have similar setup (though no Roku) and love it. One thing I’ve found when searching out more obscure content that only your spouse likes or something, is that adding another indexer can help. Newzbin for example seems to have a better selection of harder-to-find tv shows and anime than does Nzbmatrix. It all depends on what you’re looking for if it’s worth it, though. If you just want to get current comedies and dramas, nzbmatrix or nzb.su is all you need. But if you really wanted saved by the bell, you could get it on newzbin.

Also, if you can set up an antenna outside and feed it to your tv (or use an indoor antenna), you could get all the broadcast channels and probably get your judge judy and people’s court. Those are shows that run on free broadcast stations. You’d need an HDHomerun or something similar. I use the EyeTV One. It’s nice to have for when my mom visits and she wants to watch stuff like Wheel of Fortune and Dancing with the Stars.

Anyway, great write-up! Awesome job figuring everything out!

[–]kevin24lg

1 point 5 daysago (2|1)

Newzbin is great, but its not free. It seemed rather expensive to me since I’m already paying $10 a month to another service I’m not allowed to mention per the first rule.

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

If I could get everything I wanted on one of those “$10/lifetime” indexers, I would, but I already have VIP accounts on two of them and they miss enough stuff that others in my household would be tempted to go through less secure means to find what they want. I think nzbmatrix is so much less expensive because it’s a user-indexed site and can be less reliable. But if I was only interested in common stuff, it wouldn’t matter. Nzbmatrix has all that. The thing is, it works out to $25/year to get all the obscure anime my spouse could ever want, so I’m fine with that. Especially since I only pay $7.95/month for my main provider. If it were just for me? No, I wouldn’t bother.

[–]kevin24lg

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

One of the ones I have, I think Nzbmatrix, or maybe another one was like $10 or $20, but its paid for life.

Obscure anime is up my alley though. Might need to look into that.

[–]greyiago

4 points 5 daysago (5|0)

I have a huge concern with Torrenting…I don’t know why, I use icefilms like a mofo, but torrents terrify me.

[–]byttle

5 points 5 daysago (8|0)

Go usenet. You won’t regret it.

[–]greyiago

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

How does that work?

[–]zoidberg82

5 points 5 daysago (6|1)

Check out the guides on totalhtpc.com, it’s what I followed and I couldn’t be happier.

[–]greyiago

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

Totally lost with newsgroups.

edit: but thanks so much I’ll dig through the site 🙂

[–]zoidberg82

2 points 4 daysago (3|1)

Yup so was I but take a look up at the top of that site. They have the basic setup guides for a SABnzbd+Sickbeard+Couchpotato system. With a Introduction to Usenet because it’s essential to the setup.

Basically you’ll need access to usenet via a provider such as Usenetserver.com and you need access to an indexing service like NZBMatrix to search for NZB files.

SABnzbd downloads the NZB files and automates the unpacking and compiling.

Sickbeard and CouchPotato are just for further automation. They store a list of the shows and movies you want and search your indexing service (NZBMatrix) at regular intervals to see if content is available. If it is they fetch the file and send it to SABnzbd for downloading.

Once it’s done they handle post processing such as renaming the files and moving them to the correct folder.

I don’t mean to get too confusing but take a look at the link. It was a big help for me.

[–]greyiago

2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

Thanks so much.

[–]blazer44

3 points 5 daysago (4|1)

He doesn’t use torrenting. (Well for Judge Judy he does but that is it. He uses Newsgroups. Encrypted traffic to a single source. Much lower profile.

[–]coopooc

2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

Alright, that was freaking hilarious. Nice work.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 5 daysago (2|1)

🙂 Thanks!

[–]kiwimonster

3 points 5 daysago (4|1)

Great post – had never heard of SABnzbd, CouchPotato, SlickBeard, SubSonic, Plex Media Server, and Plex Media Center before – will definitely try some of this out.

Can you talk more about the newsgroups you subscribe to? Lessons learned, etc?

[–]loogielv

[S] 0 points 5 daysago (5|5)

I signed up for SuperNews. $99 for the entire year. Also I signed up for NZBMatrix, but only because I was told I should. I have no idea what NZBMatrix does. I just know it makes it so I can get to the files that I’m paying to get access to with SuperNews. Some sort of a “these files are here” service, where I then tell SABnzbd to download “the files here, using SuperNews”

Lesson learned? Dont take anyone’s word for anything. Just because someone says “Roku is the only thing to consider” it doesn’t mean they’re right..in fact, they’re probably wrong. Even for what works best for them, much less you.

Don’t get overwhelmed. Sit down with a clear plan of attack, and dont stray. In my case, it was stay the fuck away from worrying about streaming my media, until I had my library worked out. I then let my download queue finish completely before screwing around with XBMC settings, and even my remote. Take it slow. This is more important than family. Well not really, but I tend to be dramatic..mostly for effect 🙂

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Gotcha. Yea from the tiny bit of reading I’ve done you need a Newsgroup membership and a listing site, similar to a Torrent site. The listing site does all the work indexing file locations etc. I’m guessing you only paid ~$10 for access to NZBmatrix for the year?

[–]DAVYWAVY

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

its 10 dollars for a lifetime membership

[–]loogielv

[S] 0 points 4 daysago (1|1)

$10 for 10 years.

also Newzbin was $5 for a lifetime.

[–]DAVYWAVY

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

also Newzbin was $5 for a lifetime.

So was NZBmatrix ($10 for life), looks like they recently changed that. I wonder if my lifetime membership I paid for is still valid or if it will run out in 6 years time?

[–]btsierra

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Oh, it’ll still run out in 6 years. But don’t worry, that’s long enough that they can still call it a lifetime subscription. >:)

[–]CowboyProgrammer

5 points 4 daysago (5|0)

If people don’t stop breaking the first rule of Usenet, I doubt these sites will even be around in 2 years time.

[–]btsierra

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Not what I was going for, but you’re absolutely right.

[–]DAVYWAVY

0 points 5 daysago (4|4)

Yeah Roku sucks big hairy dogs balls, you are much better off getting a samsung bluray player for the same price and installing the unofficial plex media center app on that.

Samsung or LG TV’s/Bluray’s are the way to go as far as plex is concerned, everything else is buggy as hell for Media Center (exception being Mac or Windows computers)

[–]loogielv

[S] 2 points 4 daysago (5|1)

um…no. The Roku is actually awesome, and…more awesome. Especially for the price.

The Roku channel is shit, but again, install Plex Grid and it’s back to super awesome. You’re opinion is wrong!

[–]DAVYWAVY

2 points 4 daysago (3|1)

No its not wrong, the samsung player can decode anything you throw at it, the roku needs the server to transcode just about everything for it.

Try running more than one roku at once and see how it affects your plex media server’s cpu, or better still try running plex media server on a nas with not enough cpu power to transcode to even one roku player.

Until Roku improves their codec support I would recommend people avoid these boxes like the plague.

[–]loogielv

[S] 2 points 4 daysago (3|1)

that’s a good point..and definitely something to consider..

however, you say it takes a few jobs for Plex Media Server before you start having hiccups, and again, that has nothing to do with the Roku, but instead the cpu processing of the maching running Plex Media Server. I woulnd’t say “avoid them llike the plague” is really fair.

if a person has only need for 1 roku, and already has a PS3 (and thus a blue ray player) you’re really giving bad advice.

just sayin…dont get pissy or anything 🙂

[–]DAVYWAVY

2 points 4 days ago*  (2|0)

I am also going by research I have done in the Plex forums, the samsung app is also the most reliable, closely followed by the LG Medialink app.

I am not giving bad advice, not being able to decode anything it can be thrown is not the only issue, it cant even play transcoded 3d either which is something the Samsungs and LG’s can decode easily.

The Rokus are inferior why waste money on them when you can get something infinitely better for around the same price?

[–]loogielv

[S] 6 points 4 daysago (5|1)

dude, get over it. You like the Samsung BR mor than a Roku…i get it.

the roku is great for a $99 media streamer with netflix too.

I. fucking. get. it. but I think your “matter of fact” way of expressing your OPINIONS is the wrong way to live, and certainly the wrong way to offer advice on gadgets.

You’re not gods gift to cord cutting man. Simmer down.

[–]DAVYWAVY

-2 points 4 daysago (2|4)

Hey I am not the one getting upset here, I am stating facts while you are just stating opinions.

If your happy using something that is crippled in comparison then thats fine, its not my fault your a noob.

[–]grumby24

1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

Plex does not work on LG Blurays, only the newer TVs.

[–]AaronPDX

3 points 5 daysago (3|0)

Yo, homie. Headphones is like CouchPotato/SickBeard for music. It’s slightly less advanced at this stage, but still very useable. In combination with Subsonic, you can pick music, have it download and listenable within 10 minutes anywhere you’ve got internet access. This is how I listen to music at work. Just thought you’d wanna know. 🙂

edit: words in order i put

[–]snuka

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

Spotify provides the same thing for me and I don’t have to store the music on my drive.

[–]AaronPDX

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

Yeah, I use MOG, but there’s some stuff MOG doesn’t have that I can get via Headphones. The real drive for me is that I can’t access MOG on my work computer (b/c of site blocking they have set up) but I CAN access my home server, so I can listen to music via my work internet connection rather than having to use my iPhone and eat up my data allowance from AT&T.

[–]MattCaulder

3 points 4 daysago (3|0)

Thanks for mentioning the PlexGrid channel. I love Plex on my Roku, and that channel is faster, and nicer looking. Glad to have you among the ranks of the cordcutters!

[–]petrichor8

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

great writeup!

as a guy that’s been trying to cut the cord and feels like he’s just thumping a bat on his head, can you list out how you have your setup set up, ELI5-style? (i.e i use a roku, plex on a server to view, blah blah blah here’s what I use for unzipping).

[–]loogielv

[S] 3 points 5 daysago (4|2)

Yeah, i should have actually added a tl;dr eli5 edit..i think i’ll do that. i’ll reply here and tell you when the edit is done.

[–]dethkultur

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Enjoyed the writeup. I started using Plex also recently, mostly for the client-server setup, as I want multiple clients with a single data store. Was using WMC7 and Boxee before. Plex rocks… I especially like the theme music that starts when you view your individual TV shows. I just wish Plex had Reddit TV (Boxee app), then I wouldn’t use anything else.

[–]oneplusoneisfour

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

wow, thanks. Been considering dipping my toe in the water. Look forward to the setup follow-up. What’s ELI-5, btw?

[–]loogielv

[S] 0 points 5 daysago (3|3)

explain lilke i’m 5.

[–]Y0tsuya

0 points 5 days ago*  (1|1)

If you want everything on demand locally without streaming, prepare to sink lots of cash into a RAID. I’m up to 40TB here, and only slowed down recently due to lack of HDD supply.

[–]snuka

3 points 5 daysago (4|1)

Perhaps you are a digital hoarder? 🙂

Seriously, how many times can you go back and watch the same movie or show? I can barely keep up with the new stuff that’s coming out constantly.

[–]Y0tsuya

2 points 5 days ago*  (2|0)

Yes I am a hoarder 🙂 I’m just saying this is the natural result of wanting have everything pre-downloaded to be available on-demand, plus not deleting anything.

[–]byttle

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

Christ man. I’m maybe up to 2tb and I usually either delete a series or downgrade it to SD.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 5 daysago (2|1)

That’s extreme as shit man. I’m jealous.

[–]byttle

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

There’s also a specific branch of sick beard that will work for anime. I run 2 sick beard installations for tv and anime (it’s just easier that way).

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 5 daysago (2|1)

what do you mean a specific branch?
I’ve been trying to figure out a way to get kids movies and tv shows to get added to SABnzbd with the group of “kids” instead of the default TV, and then have anything with the group of “kids” get saved to “e:\kids” instead of “e:\tv shows” this way I can set their Roku to point to e:\kids and they only get kids content.

It sounds like running 2 SickBeards might do it…can you elaborate?

I’m sure there’s some good practical uses for keeping pr0n separate too.

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 5 daysago (3|1)

You don’t need to do that just to have your kids’ shows show up in the right directory. He’s just doing that because the way thetvdb handles anime is shitty. When you add a show in sickbeard, you can specify (in the web interface) which drive you want to have the show’s folder and where you want to save it. Everything doesn’t need to be saved to the same directory. I have shows saved on two different 2TB hard drives and on my computer’s hard drive.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

Oh thats right. duh. Totally over looked that. What a dumbass I am. Thanks!

edit: however, CouchPotato, is there any way to specify a diff folder for kids movies?

[–]GrrrArrgh

1 point 4 daysago (2|1)

I don’t think couch potato asks you every time where to save your movie, so I don’t think so. It would be under Preferences if it’s there. One thing you could do is add a new category in SABnzbd. Call it “Kids” and then whenever you add a movie by searching through the index sites and adding it to SABnzbd, select “Kids” as a category when it starts to download. When it’s complete, it will be saved in a /kids directory. You can point Plex to that directory and have those movies show up as kids’ movies. Thing is, that probably won’t work if couch potato is running because couch potato will take over and move your movie to whatever main movie directory you specified for it. I got tired of couch potato moving stuff when I didn’t want it to, so I stopped using it. Since movies are something I search for rather than have automatically download, it didn’t bother me. YMMV. You can probably get it working in a way you’re happy with if you tinker with it enough.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

that was my next attempt actually. Just when I add a movie via CouchPotato, wait until it gets snatched, and then change the category to kids. It’s not 100% automated, but it’s 99%, and i’d be sitting at the computer already, since I’d be adding the movie.

the only thing is if CP has a problem finding the movie, and it doesn’t get added right away, I’d have to watch for it to make its way into SAB, or copy it after it’s already done downloading, if i missed it.

no biggie at all, and ultimately the way I’ll do it.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Awesome guide on creating a similar setup here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?t=120406

No association with it, just found it by googling these softwares together. Major difference is his guide sues JRiver HTPC software rather than Plex.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Has anyone tried setting up a HTPC with SABnzbd, CouchPotato, and SlickBeard on a mac mini?

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

Yes. Works really well.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Cool, seems like a no brainer considering the Mini’s great form factor, price-to-performance level, and noise facor.

Do you do it through Mac OS or Windows 7?

Do you access it all through Plex, JRiver, XMBC, or stock media viewer?

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 5 daysago (2|0)

Mac OS. All that software runs fine on the mac from source (actually, just sickbeard needs to run from source. SAB and couchpotato run as regular apps). No need for Win7 unless you just like using it. I use Plex because of the ability of the Plex media server to stream to any number of devices easily, plus getting metadata is automated, no scraping necessary. XBMC is fine too, you can always try both and compare.

I’m really a big fan of using a mac mini as a HTPC. It’s small, barely uses any power, and does everything I want. I got the cheapest model and upgraded the RAM to 4G. Would probably be just as cheap now to get 8G, though you wouldn’t need that unless you’re playing games or something.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

Very nice, this is exactly what I want to do. Just add Connect360 on top so I can stream to the XBoxs around the house as well. I’ll have the Mac Mini in the main living room, direct ethernet to the router and HDMI to the big screen. XBoxs in extra rooms for media access.

If you don’t mind, what model exactly do you use? Do you use an external HD for more space/speed?

I’m guessing you stream to other computers, tablets, rokus?

[–]GrrrArrgh

1 point 5 days ago*  (1|0)

I have a 2010 mac mini, so anything you bought today would be more powerful than what I have. Mine is 4GB, 2.4 Ghz core 2 duo. It’s not that mine feels underpowered; it’s just a couple of years old. I have a friend who just got a new mac mini server and set his up with raid 1. I didn’t see a need to do that because I didn’t care about the size of the HD that came with the mini. I have two external 2TB drives attached for my media (Iomega Minimax FW800/USB 2.0), though I just ordered a Drobo for future expansion. It was 50% off (link in another cordcutters thread) and the best price I’d seen since I started thinking about getting one several years ago.

We stream to an iPad, two iphones (rarely, though you can use them as remotes), and a macbook. I also have an old 2007 macbook set up with a SSD for when I get a compatible TV for the bedroom. If I didn’t already have that spare macbook then yes, I would probably get a Roku or AppleTV to stream from the Mini. You can jailbreak an ATV2 and install Plex on it or do what the OP here did and use a Roku. Do hardwire as many connections as you can. Streaming locally works fine for me…except for when there are downloads going or Netflix is playing.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

For anyone following this conversation, I found a guide for installing all of these softwares on a Mac Mini (as if it wasn’t easy enough already) here: http://www.totalhtpc.com/mac-media-center-guide/

edit Similar guide in video format: http://www.applemediacenter.com/2011/09/24/the-holy-trinity-sabnzbd-sickbeard-couchpotato/

[–]adubftw

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Now I am torn again. I’m a day or two from buying all my components to build a new custom HTPC for a little under $600. I keep asking myself if I really want to mess with the setup and configuration, which I’m sure will be a bear. The Mac mini comes out of the box ready to go, which is a huge pro. Having used it for awhile now, have you noticed any cons compared to a the PC?

From what I gathered, the Mac mini is a bit more difficult to upgrade, and isn’t as flexible when it comes to remote controls. Please add your comments! I’m on The fence and could really use your input.

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

Well, if you build your own, you can upgrade any component. With the mac mini, I can replace the RAM and the hard drive. It should last quite a while, though, since playing media is a pretty basic task.

As far as remotes go, I use a Logitech Harmony One. You’re not stuck with the Apple remote. The Apple remote works fine, but I wanted a real universal remote that would turn the whole system on and off. I’m sure there are plenty of remotes that aren’t OSX-compatible, but I think most of the Harmony line is. I have kind of a complicated setup with the program Remote Buddy so that I can control any program with the remote, but you don’t need to do that. I’m not sure if it’s easier to accomplish in Win7.

One thing that’s nice about Windows is Windows Media Center. If you’re recording OTA broadcasts, it apparently has a very nice interface. On the mac, the best option is EyeTV. EyeTV is fine, but I’ve read that people who have used both prefer WMC.

Either way will work; it just comes down to preference about certain things in the end.

[–]incrediblefartingcat

[+1] 1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

yes, got that exact setup here. Except I run XBMC instead of Plex.

For all the wankery surrounding Plex, I decided XBMC was the better package. No hiccups in playback, it plays all formats straight away with no messing around, the scraping works better and the shows and movies you’re trying to watch arn’t buried 3-4 menus deep. A minor niggle to some people but it made me watch to punch babies during my PLex trials.

[–]kiwimonster

1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

Which Mac mini are you running?

[–]incrediblefartingcat

[+1] 1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

late 2007 2Ghz core 2 duo. 2Gb RAM. Runs fine, no issues with anything.

[–]soupiejr

1 point 5 daysago (1|0)

That’s so similar to what I have, the only thing that’s missing is XBMC doesn’t integrate with my TV Tuner Card. Then there’s the issue of streaming said channels over the network too. I feel like I’m banging my head against the wall, trying to get OTA TV channels to other rooms or to my android devices over the network.

[–]technewsreader

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Media portal was written to fix that.

[–]soupiejr

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

It feels a little silly, having to run XBMC that integrates so well with all my media already, and then having to switch to a different system to watch my TV via Media Portal. Also, Media Portal would occassionally crash on my computer too.

[–]technewsreader

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Mediapprtal is an xbmc port. Your media should register fine.

[–]rkolb86

2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

Cox cable is no longer supplying my family television, AND if they followed my instructions verbatim, there should be a VOIP cable modem, AND an HD DVR lodged deep in a rectum somewhere.

Upvote just for this incredible sentence

[–]PlutoISaPlanet

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

one thing to add is if you can get in on a good, private tracker, life’s just as easy using utorrent w/ RSS feeds to get all the TV shows without a hitch. I’ve never run into a problem w/ XBMC cataloging anything I’ve gotten off private trackers due to naming conventions or anything. Utorrent just scours the feed for my search filters, downloads to the directory I specified and XBMC picks it up from there. The big plus here is no newsgroup subscription to worry about.

[–]loogielv

[S] 2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

yeah, I’m a member of several private trackers, and the one that comes to mind with no universale naming convention is IPTorrents. It’s good and all, but really there’s no standards when it comes to what gets uploaded.

Dont get me wrong, uTorrent and RSS is awesome and definitely capable of doing infinitely more than Joe Average, but if you want to take the next step, and it’s hard for me to admit, as I’m a long time torrent lover…newsgroups is the only way to fly.

[–]pudds

1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Just a tip: sickbeard does support torrents. It doesn’t do it well, and it doesn’t allow you to easily add new sites, however, if you have a “watch” directory configured, and if you have a show configured, and if a file finds its way into the watch directory, sickbeard will process it. Doesn’t care where it came from.

Therefore, if you add judge Judy and peoples court to sickbeard, configure sickbeard to watch a directory, and configure your torrent app to dump your daily RSS files into that folder, sickbeard will do the rest. Sickbeard won’t snatch new episodes for you, but your RSS feed will do that for you.

I frequently drop full season torrents into my watch directory for sickbeard to process to save time.

[–]loogielv

[S] 1 point 4 daysago (1|0)

Your’e right, but the issue with Judge Judy, is even the info from TVDB on it is missing and incomplete. (At least i think so)

also the torrent file comes through like “jude_judy_feb_8_2012.avi” and sickbeard won’t process it or rename it or anything. I tried setting the settings to airing date, instead of “S012E38” it would say “02082012” or something, but it wouldn’t work either.

Worst case is I let utorrnet download the file to my e:\tv shows\judge judy” folder and keep the horrible naming convention. My OCD senses start tingling at just the thought, but it’ll shut my wife up 🙂

[–]GrrrArrgh

2 points 4 daysago (2|0)

You could use something like TVnamer to auto-rename your judge judy files. I think there’s also a program called “therenamer.” I just manually fix things sickbeard won’t process correctly, but then I don’t have a regular show like that where I’d have to do it all the time. Other option is to ask on the sickbeard forums for them to make a “scene exception” and add that naming convention for judge judy to their database. Link to scene exception thread: http://sickbeard.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2227

[–]otherwaystowatch

1 point 3 daysago (1|0)

Great writeup…nice work.

[–]Mephiska

1 point 1 dayago (1|0)

I’m also a huge Roku fan.

Have you thought about OTA with something like the HDHomeRun? If you can get good signal, there’s a LOT of stuff you can record and MC7 is fucking fantastic, really one of the best original products to come out of Microsoft in years, and there isn’t much else in the PC TV Tuner space that’s as good.

I haven’t completely cut the cord with Comcast yet because every time I call to try and cancel my already basic cable, they keep offering me a deal bundled with my internet that makes it cheaper than if I cancel the cable, so I still get my local channels over cable instead of the antenna, but functionally it’s the same for me. All the regular network TV I want to watch is recorded by MC7. I love it, and it’s nice eye candy, much better than a comcast STB.

[+]frstmnjack comment score below threshold  (7 children)

Use of this site constitutes acceptance of our User Agreement and Privacy Policy. © 2012 reddit inc. All rights reserved.

REDDIT and the ALIEN Logo are registered trademarks of reddit inc.

1 Comment »

  1. excellent points altogether, you just won a emblem new reader.
    What might you recommend about your submit that you simply made some
    days in the past? Any positive?

    Comment by advice home equity loans — June 26, 2013 @ 14:54


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

