heredago's blog

July 2, 2010

ubuntu vnc remote desktop menus menu invisible nvidia

Filed under: Uncategorized — heredago @ 22:59

http://superuser.com/questions/41944/nvidia-restricted-driver-invisible-menus-when-using-vnc

After the initial install, I updated everything, and it all went fine. I was able to VNC using Ubuntu’s built-in “Remote Desktop” with no problems.

I then installed the 180.xx restricted nvidia drivers and rebooted. Everything worked fine on my TV, but when I VNC’d into it, all I could see was the background and title bar. When I’d pull down a menu, the menu was visible on the TV but not over the VNC link.

I assume that means the GUI was now using some sort of overlay for the menus, which is fine, but what’s the best way to make them visible over VNC?

FIX: go to system, appearance, ,visual effects, and set it to none

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

